chef
notes
AOJQ AOJQ

Julien Benichou

Julien Benichou

Guest conductor from France

Conductor Julien Benichou currently serves as Music Director of the Mid-Atlantic Symphony Orchestra, Music Director of the Chesapeake Youth Symphony Orchestra, Orchestra Director at Towson University, Artistic Director of the McDaniel Orchestra Academy, as well as Principal Conductor for the Towson New Music Ensemble. He is also Orchestra Director at Montclair State University for the 2015-2016 season. As guest conductor, Mr. Benichou has led the Annapolis Symphony Orchestra and Mobtown Modern new music concerts in Baltimore, including the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra/Mobtown Modern Synchronicity collaboration.

Recent engagements include fully-staged performances of Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess with the Morgan State University Choir and Opera Workshop in Baltimore, which received critical acclaim. In 2012 he conducted the Orquestra Sinfonica do Parana in Curitiba, Brazil, and in 2013 the St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra in St. Petersburg, Russia. In 2014 he took a professional chamber orchestra to Yaoundé, Cameroon, where he conducted a concert blending Western and African music in the presence of this country’s Minister of Culture, setting up the first-ever collaboration between pygmy musicians and an orchestra.

A native of France, Mr. Benichou studied conducting and composition at the Marseille conservatory. He further studied conducting at the Rueil Malmaison conservatory, as well as harmony, counterpoint and musical analysis at the Schola Cantorum in Paris. The recipient of the Prix de la SACEM in Musical Analysis, Julien Benichou also completed a graduate performance diploma at Peabody Conservatory, earned a master’s degree in orchestral conducting from Northwestern University, and did further graduate studies at Yale University. He has participated in master classes with such conductors as Leonard Slatkin, Yuri Temirkanov, Marin Alsop, Michael Tilson Thomas and JoAnn Falletta.

A passionate music educator, Mr. Benichou has taken the Chesapeake Youth Symphony Orchestra on three European tours, most recently to St. Petersburg, Russia where he led a side-by-side concert with the St. Petersburg Symphony. He recently worked with Maestro Louis Lavigueur on collaborations with the Orchestre symphonique des jeunes de Montréal, and has been a guest conductor for several honors orchestras in Maryland and California.

Also a composer, Julien Benichou has a special interest in new music and has led commissions, premieres and a recording on the Centaur Records label. Also an opera and ballet conductor, Mr. Benichou has worked with the Ballet Theater of Maryland, the Morgan State University Choir and Opera Workshop, as well as the Baltimore Concert Opera.

chef
notes
AOJQ AOJQ

Julien Benichou

Julien Benichou

Chef invité de France

Julien Benichou est actuellement directeur musical du Mid-Atlantic Symphony Orchestra ainsi que du Chesapeake Youth Symphony Orchestra, chef d’orchestre à la Towson University, directeur artistique de la McDaniel Orchestra Academy, et chef principal du Towson New Music Ensemble. Il agira en outre à titre de chef d’orchestre de la Montclair State University en 2015-2016. M. Benichou a été chef invité auprès du Annapolis Symphony Orchestra de même que des concerts de musique nouvelle Mobtown Modern à Baltimore, dont la collaboration Baltimore Symphony Orchestra/Mobtown Modern Synchronicity.

Plus récemment, il a dirigé des représentations acclamées de Porgy and Bess de Gershwin avec le Morgan State University Choir and Opera Workshop. En 2012 il a dirigé l’Orquestra Sinfonica do Parana à Curitiba, au Brésil et, en 2013, l’orchestre symphonique d’État de Saint-Pétersbourg, en Russie. En 2014 il a accompagné un orchestre de chambre professionnel à Yaoundé, au Cameroun, où il a dirigé un concert en présence du ministre de la Culture de ce pays combinant musiques occidentales et africaines, organisant la toute première collaboration entre des musiciens pygmées et un orchestre.

Né en France, M. Benichou a étudié la direction d’orchestre et la composition au conservatoire de Marseille, après quoi il a poursuivi ses études de direction au conservatoire de Rueil Malmaison et étudié l’harmonie, le contrepoint et l’analyse musicale à la Schola Cantorum de Paris. Récipiendaire du Prix de la SACEM en analyse musicale, Julien Benichou a obtenu un diplôme universitaire en interprétation du Peabody Conservatory et une maîtrise en direction d’orchestre de la Northwestern University avant de poursuivre des études supérieures à la Yale University. Il a participé à des classes de maître avec divers chefs de renom dont Leonard Slatkin, Yuri Temirkanov, Marin Alsop, Michael Tilson Thomas et JoAnn Falletta.

Éducateur passionné, M. Benichou a effectué trois tournées européennes avec le Chesapeake Youth Symphony Orchestra, dont la plus récente à Saint-Pétersbourg, en Russie, où il a dirigé des concerts côte-à-côte avec l’orchestre symphonique de Saint-Pétersbourg. Il a récemment collaboré avec maestro Louis Lavigueur et l’Orchestre symphonique des jeunes de Montréal, et a été chef invité de plusieurs orchestres scolaires au Maryland et en Californie.

Également compositeur, Julien Benichou s’intéresse particulièrement à la musique nouvelle et a dirigé des œuvres à commande et des créations, de même qu’un enregistrement sur étiquette Centaur Records. Mr. Benichou en outre dirigé des ballets et des opéras en collaboration avec le Ballet Theater of Maryland, le Morgan State University Choir and Opera Workshop, ainsi que le Baltimore Concert Opera.